Putting Down Roots

Putting Down Roots

newborn

A few weeks ago, before the rains, I had a gardening bonanza! I never thought of myself as much of a green thumb. In fact I still don’t, but since my pre-school years, I’ve always loved seeing the first peek of green peering up from the soil and tendril upward into the world.

I’ve long graduated from Dixie cups and sunflower seeds and now have a 4×4 veggie garden patch. It’s not much, but something which fits perfectly into the sun-soaked spot just beneath our kitchen window. This year I planted two 6-packs of rainbow chard of which the jackrabbits have made their personal salad bar (note to self: chicken wire ASAP). Still standing are the zucchini, squash, japanese eggplant, jalapenos, red cabbage, dino kale and a trailblazing effort of asparagus. Every morning I go outside to coo over them like they’re all my little babies. My 9yo daughter and my cat, Pablo stare out the window at me like I’ve lost my mind.

In Ayurveda, spring is Vata (air/wind) season. It’s the Mover & Shaker of all seasons. It’s the season for birthing new ideas, meeting new people, taking action on those new year intentions. With it can come unexplained feelings of overwhelm, anxiety, irritability.That 3rd chakra, the energy center of our will and moving forward in the world, gets super activated and if we’re not careful can completely quake our foundation.

Getting grounded: Just like that little pea shoot is striving to break through the soil, it also needs to be rooted in order to survive. It’s important to practice grounding this time of year in order for us to move from a true place, rather than falling over ourselves to get to the next project. Think about that picture for a moment…we end up getting in our own way!

Being in nature, getting my hands in dirt, cultivating and nurturing seedlings into the earth, planting a stack of clay pots with jasmine, lavender, hydrangeas and herbs…this grounds me. After working in the ethereal realms of Reiki, kneeling and bringing my focus downward to soil is something my body craves.

So if you’re feeling unmoored in this early bit of spring, we can get you grounded. And be sure to back it up with getting your feet and hands on a patch of mother earth.

 

jenniferbrinn.com   Reiki Healing : Coaching : Reiki Classes newheadshot

 

Published by

jenniferbrinn

Writer, Speaker, Intuitive Guide, Reiki Teacher & regular chick inspiring, guiding & musing about everything from mishaps to grace within our Universe!

Leave a Reply

