How to Rebound from Holiday Flatline

flatline

Flatline. We’ve all been there. The state of utter brain-dead exhaustion where we simply can’t lift a finger, let alone a foot in the right direction towards our own wellbeing. For me it typically happens after the holidays. Last year, the 2012 ‘Fa-la-la-la-la’ season began by driving twelve hours roundtrip for Thanksgiving on Interstate 5, that long corridor stretching the Central Valley from Northern California to Southern California. My assignment, cooking Thanksgiving dinner for party of eight. After three days with family, I immediately returned to stealthily plan my beau’s 50th surprise birthday party for 40 people happening a week later. Then there was the funeral we had to attend for an elderly neighbor on the same day of the party. And because of the surprise element (the party, not the funeral) I couldn’t explain to my beau why I was so antsy to hurry up and get out of there. Additionally the normal responsibilities of home, our daughter and work continued to ensue. Then there was the majestic pageantry heralding in Christmas! My good juju felt more like “Good grief!” as it became been mired in the shadow of my action hero.

Luckily, we were able to get away for some island time after the holidays. Yet, instead of feeling restored and doing the things I loved like yoga, walking the beach, exploring and swimming, all I could do was sit and read a book. I was exhausted and grouchy. I drank too many poolside mai-tais, ate sodium-packed room service, and picked up a nasty little cold on the return flight which stayed with me for a week. I felt like I needed a vacation from my vacation! It was an official case of Flatline. Have you been there?

Energy Follows Focus:

Waking in the mornings, still tired after nine hours of sleep, I was uninspired to do anything good for myself. Yet, I knew I needed to rev up the old discipline and drag myself into healthier behaviors. It was a matter of focus. I got focused on having a more vibrant body, mind and spirit, not just for me, but for my family and my clients!

Energy follows focus. Whatever we focus on, the energy will follow. So if we focus on “I’m tired” all the time, then guess where the energy goes? Our state of mind informs our decisions and actions. Where do we live emotionally at any given moment? We have to commit and make the decision to focus on being vibrant, on having good juju! When we train our mind and body to be in the most empowered states of mind, then we are most empowered in our lives.

Stay tuned next week to learn about the 3 Types of Flatline

learn more about my work: jenniferbrinn.com

Published by

jenniferbrinn

Writer, Speaker, Intuitive Guide, Reiki Teacher & regular chick inspiring, guiding & musing about everything from mishaps to grace within our Universe!

Leave a Reply

