Gratitude for the Day

sunrise
The Thanksgiving holiday is upon us! I feel grateful to have so many wonderful Thanksgiving memories under my belt. Growing up, we were relegated to the Kids’ Table at the far end of a long family table, but after the feast we’d make our way up to the head of the table where my grandfather sat. A bit tipsy after drinking André Cold Duck champagne, he’d put a few raisins in his glass and let us watch them float to the surface. Looking back I don’t even know why it was so much fun at the time, but I enjoyed hearing him laugh as my grandmother scolded him.In my 20s there was a period of time when all the women in my family went on strike from cooking and would head down to the Florida Keys where we’d stay for the entire week and eat Thanksgiving dinner out in great restaurants.

One year Thanksgiving was skipped altogether as I was traveling in Tuscany. While having dinner with friends we realized mid-meal it was Thanksgiving back in the States, so we toasted our families…and drank more Chianti!

Wherever you land, whatever you do, whomever you’re with, it’s a perfect time to devote your gratitude for the blessings you have in your life.

Once again, I’m sharing one of my favorite videos of all time. It’s 6min of gorgeous moments with the reminder to be grateful.

Do you think today is just another day in your life? It’s not just another day it’s the one day that is given to you today!
~
Brother David Steindl-Rast

Watch the Gratitude video

Tell me what you’re grateful for in the comments below!

 

 

Published by

jenniferbrinn

Writer, Speaker, Intuitive Guide, Reiki Teacher & regular chick inspiring, guiding & musing about everything from mishaps to grace within our Universe!

Leave a Reply

